Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Vestry and Convention Delegate Elections

January 28, 2018 @ 7:30 am - 12:00 pm

We are excited to share with you that nine members of our church family have stepped forward for consideration for the four open positions on the vestry. The candidates for vestry, in alphabetical order, are: Bruce Cramer, Christina Ford, Greg Loviscky, Kevin Lowe, Jason McCloskey, Ford McNutt, Kelley Paulsen, Marc Rigas, and Kathryn Yahner.

In addition to the election of vestry members, the six St. Andrew’s delegates to the 2018 diocesan convention will be elected. The following ten members of the parish have offered to be candidates for election as convention delegates: Gwen Catchen, Anthony Grillo, Carolee Grillo, Linda Hoover ,Rick Hoover, Rich Marini, Kelley Paulsen, Marion Schwartz, Molly Wells, and Walter Wells.

Guidelines for vestry and delegate election are noted in the church by-laws. Voting will take place on the morning of January 28, 2017, before and after the 8 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. services, from 7:30 a.m. to 12 a.m. Ballots will note the names of all nominees and electors will be asked to indicate their selections. Electors are all adult members of the parish. Adult members of the parish must be over 16 years old, have been baptized, confirmed and/or received by a Bishop of the Episcopal Church, and have had their membership officially transferred to St. Andrew’s (if previously a member of another parish). If you have any questions about your eligibility to vote, please contact Allison Shea in the St. Andrew’s office for verification.

If you cannot be present to vote when the polls are open on January 28, you may obtain an absentee ballot by contacting the Clerk of the Vestry, Rick Hoover, at 814-238-4888 or rickhoover@aol.com. He is empowered to issue and collect absentee ballots. All completed absentee ballots must be returned to him at the following address no later than 5:00 PM, Thursday, January 26, 2017.

Rick Hoover
Clerk of the Vestry
2358 Corinna Court
State College, Pennsylvania 16803

Votes will be tallied on January 28, immediately after polls close at noon. Candidates will be individually notified of the results. The four new members of the vestry and the diocesan convention delegates will be announced publicly, and ratified, that evening at the annual meeting. The annual meeting will be held in Canterbury Hall with a potluck dinner beginning at 6 PM.

Please keep the candidates in your prayers during the next few weeks as we all come together to discern new directions for our parish.


January 28, 2018
7:30 am - 12:00 pm
Event Category:
Saint Andrew's Episcopal Church
208 West Foster Avenue
State College PA 16801
ph. (814) 237-7659